Persevering Under Trial

1

 

 

Right now, looking back on these past few weeks of my life I could easily tell you the things that weren’t normal. (Family troubles have been keeping my family separated for extended periods of time. More on that later.) I could tell you a lot of things I’m not too thankful for.

I’ve been focusing on those little things so much, I haven’t had much time to think about the things in my life I have to be thankful for. The little things, that I don’t think about on a daily basis.

And to be reminded of all the wonderful things I have, I decided to list out some things I’m thankful for this week.

  • Our new wood stove that makes us toasty warm.
  • My sisters, especially Kayla, who keeps us fed even when mom isn’t here.
  • My dad. And his long, warm hug when I couldn’t hold the tears back any longer.
  • My puppies, who supply us with never-ending cuteness.
  • My blog, which lets me share my thoughts with others, while getting more educated on the things I’m passionate about. Like writing, photography and blog design.
  • All of my amazing blogging friends– I WILL meet all of you someday.
  • I’m thankful for my mom who helps and encourages me with my blog. And my school work, of course.
  • I’m thankful for my BFFL, who I got to visit a couple weeks ago and spend her birthday with her! Even though the reason I could visit her wasn’t the best reason.
  • I’m thankful for my passion for photography.
  • My cozy room–even though its tiny, I still love it.
  • My pen pals, who don’t get too anxious when they don’t get a note from me after a couple weeks.
  • Christmas lights–seriously. I hung christmas lights all around my room and every time I walk in my room I get a sudden rush of joyfulness.
  • Bobbies — the post-Thanksgiving sandwich– a Thanksgiving meal (my favorite) in one, delicious sandwich.
  • Fuzzy blankets.
  • America, and the freedom to be a christian and pronounce my love for christ.
  • Being able to homeschool.
  • The evening I got to spend with my big sis yesterday.
  • I’m thankful for mine, and my families’ peace and calmness we’ve had through all of these trials.

And even though my mom and my oldest sister weren’t with us this thanksgiving, I can still be thankful that they’re healthy and safe.

“Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.”
James 1:12

What are some things you’re thankful for this week?

♥Hayley

 

17 thoughts on “Persevering Under Trial

  1. Jordan says:

    This post is wonderful, Hayley! I agree . . . Even though we may be going through trials, we need to be thankful for the little (and big!) things that sometimes we take for granted. 🙂

    Like

  2. Lainey says:

    Praying for you, Hayley! ❤ 🙂 I'm so thankful to have you as an online friend and pen pal(btw, I finished your letter and will be sending it off ASAP;))!! Stay strong, girl-God's got this;)

    Like

  3. Jaclynn says:

    Oh, Hayley… I feel so sad for you because I can feel that you’re going through a lot… I just want you to know that you will be in my prayers. ❤
    This has been a really hard year for me so I understand how sometimes it can be hard to be thankful, but I'm glad that you made this list. I never wrote one out, but I've made mental ones when I've realized that I need to be thankful for the things I do have.
    God is with you through it all, Hayley! 🙂
    ~Jaclynn~

    Like

  4. Rebekah says:

    This was a great post Hayley! I think it is honorable that you are being thankful even through hard times. On a lighter note, I love bobbies! You were the who introduced me to them. Also, I loved getting to see you a few weeks ago too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

