Rainbows Shouldn’t be a Sign of our Pride

dsc_0094

 

I love rainbows. I love all the vibrant colors put together, in the sky and on paper. But it’s not just the bright colors that make me happy. It’s the meaning that comes with the rainbow.

You see, God gave us rainbows for a reminder of his love for us. It’s not just a cool thing that happens when the sun shines while its raining. I mean, yeah, it’s beautiful and that is how rainbows are formed. But there’s more to them.

Sadly, these days, people don’t know that. Or don’t care. They put the colors of the rainbow on everything… But it’s for all the wrong reasons. They put it on flags, paint it on the middle of roads, and emblazon it on signs.

Truthfully–I would like to buy a rainbow flag in a heartbeat, I mean, those things are awesome! But I can’t. Because then people will think I support something that I don’t support.

It’s not that I disrespect the people themselves, but I disrespect the fact that they insist on being proud of their sin, instead of acknowledging it. That doesn’t mean I think I’m better than them; that’s not it at all.  I just think we need to try to avoid sin, not wear it with pride.

So if a rainbow doesn’t stand for the world’s sinful pride, then what does it signify?

“I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth.” Genesis 9:13

A rainbow is a sign of God’s love for his creation. He made a covenant between himself and the earth in Genesis 9:9-14. He promised Noah and his family that the earth would never again be destroyed by a flood.

God made that promise because he loves us; he knew he would be ashamed of his people again in the future. And to keep himself from destroying his people whenever we upset him, he made a covenant with us. Because God always keeps his promises.

How ironic that we have changed the symbol of God’s beautiful covenant with us to a symbol of our humanly, sinful pride.

We’ve turned so far from him, but he still loves us and cares for us.

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  Lamentations 3:22-23

I will never stop loving rainbows, they cheer me up and remind me of God’s love for us. Despite how, in our sinful nature, we’ve distorted the meaning of the rainbow, I will always treasure the pale, colorful arch that stretches into the horizon with the sun streaming through it.

Do you love rainbows?

♥Hayley

rainbows-shouldnt-be-a-symbol-of-our-pride

36 thoughts on “Rainbows Shouldn’t be a Sign of our Pride

  1. Hanne T says:

    YESYESYES like I’ve always said that I like all the colors, particularly when they all go together. And now I can’t wear rainbow clothes or even, make a bullet journal spread with all the colors of the rainbow without it appearing like I support something I don’t.

    Also I hadn’t realized until now the difference between the world’s symbolism of the rainbow and God’s meaning of the rainbow.

    Like

  2. Bisi says:

    I Totally Agree..I Can’t Buy Things With The Rainbow Colours For The Same Reason..It Hurts Because I Love The Rainbow And What It Signifies Biblically,but The World Has Turned It To Something Else..Great Write Up.God Bless!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Christian Homeschooler says:

    This was a fantastic post, Hayley! You voiced my thoughts exactly! And yes, I love rainbows, though I don’t get to see them in the sky often. And rainbow patterned things are beautiful, too. It is always good to remind people of what the rainbow really means.
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Like

  4. Lydia Dyslin says:

    I so agree with you on this!! I was actually JUST thinking about this the other day, and how when someone is wearing a rainbow shirt or something, you don’t know if it’s just a pretty rainbow or a “pride” rainbow, and I’m afraid to wear rainbow shirts or bracelets because people might think I support something I don’t. I still love rainbows, though!;)

    ~Lydia~ ❤

    Like

  5. Kellyn Roth says:

    I agree with you 100%. Rainbows are beautiful and they have such a wonderful meaning in the Bible, and now I can’t appreciate them without thinking about that and being sad about the sin. 😦

    Like

  6. Jessica says:

    I appreciated this post Hayley! It’s disappointing to see a beautiful and powerful part of God’s creation have all the wrong connotations these days..

    Also, I think this is the first time I’ve visited your blog, and I’m enjoying looking around, and reading back through your posts! Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Like

  7. Jordan says:

    This is so true! It represents exactly how I feel about those who proudly carry the rainbow flag… thanks for putting it in to words. 😉
    How I wish I could buy a rainbow flag – but as a sign of my love for God. ❤

    Like

  8. Elise says:

    That was wonderful Hayley. I really couldn’t have said it better myself. Unfortunately, it is becoming so that it isn’t good enough in our culture just to not shun the rainbow flag’s meaning, now you are expected to uphold it as a beautiful thing. It is sad how many things are being misused nowadays in their real meanings. Jesus is my rainbow.

    Like

  9. Marie says:

    I agree with you 100% and yes I do love rainbows especially when there’s a light rain and Sun together. God’s beautiful promise. Let God be true and every man a liar. ☔🌈⛅

    Like

Leave a Reply

