My future…

12593868_10208272172298551_4926433678631874594_o

Shockingly, many high school students neglect purposeful thoughts about their future. “Future” to them is the upcoming prom. But when I  think of the future, I think of my future college life. My future job. And my future kids. Not dresses and prom dates.

This week I was with a bunch of high schoolers, and they were each asked to explain what they wanted to do with their lives. Only a few of them had actual goals. Most answered by saying, “I just want to be happy,” or “I want to help people.” I mean, those are wonderful ambitions, but they’re not legitimate REAL life goals.

I think it’s interesting that juniors and seniors don’t know what they want to do with their lives while I, a 13-year-old, have a perspicuous plan. In fact, ever since I moved to New England I’ve thought a lot about, as kids say, “what I want to be when I grow up.” You all know that I want to be  will be a published author… but that’s all you really know. Turns out, I have so much more planned for my future!

{{ My future… }}

The main thing I want to accomplish in my life is to share Jesus’s love with others. I know a lot of Christians say that, but I actually have practical ways I want to do it. Maybe by farming, maybe by writing, or maybe by blogging. While I don’t know for sure, God does. So I don’t have to worry too much about it. But I should be learning everything I can about farming, writing, and blogging, while I continue to be God’s child and grow in my faith.

I want to raise God-loving kids. I’m also determined that my kids will not be taught in a public school. They will be taught at home, like I have had the honor of doing… Because I believe I am truly blessed to be able to be taught at home, and I want my kids to have the same privilege.

I want have my own farm. I want my kids to experience the joy of gathering warm, fresh eggs. The extremely content feeling of having a successful chore day (cleaning up coops, stables, and cages). And the excitement of hatching fuzzy little chicks.

dsc_0170

I will be a published author, but I will also be a stay-at-home mom. No matter what. And I will give up my author dream if it means my kids are raised at home, with me as their mom. Of course I’ll never stop writing. But I can do that without leaving my kids without a full-time mom.

dsc_0921

And even if I don’t make it a job, I will be a photographer. I want to cherish the precious moments that I will have as a writer, farmer, and homeschool mom.

~~~~~~

So there you go. That’s what I want to be when I grow up–a full-time mom, a writer, a farmer, and a photographer. It’s as simple as that. Okay, maybe it’s not overly simple, but I do have a lot figured out before I even enter high school. 

“She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh without fear of the future.”
Proverbs 31:25

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

What are your plans for the future?

♥Hayley

I’m planning some exciting, new things–so get excited!

25 thoughts on “My future…

  1. Rutvi says:

    Those are wonderful plans-and I know you will achieve your goals. It’s so true what you said about kids having goals for things that aren’t important. It’s great that you already have plans for the future- that way you can start working on them no and make sure they happen when you’re older. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Josie says:

    Awesome! And you’ll definitely be published. I’ve been thinking about the future a lot- it’s really complicated. I don’t know how to be a writer and musician. My M’pact group suggested I write musicals….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hayley says:

      Aw, thank you, Josie!! I know–the future can be hard, and scary… But we all have to think about it sometime ;). Oh, I definitely think you can be a writer at the same time as a musician!! Thats a good idea. But writing music isn’t the same think as writing novels, I mean I wouldn’t really know, but I guess it isn’t ;).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. littlehouseofamericangirl says:

    I loved reading this, Hayley! I’ve been thinking a lot about my future, too. Probably because it all seems so near at the moment. I mean, within a year I’ll probably be driving and have a job and then I could be married in a few years and I’m like- I’m not really prepared for all of this! It all just seems like so much. Some of the stuff is exciting, though, but other bits I’m like – take your time coming XD
    I definitely want to be a stay at home mom. And I definitely want my kids to be homeschooled. I plan on being a published author and to continue with my blogs, not matter what! I also would like to someday release a Crochet Pattern book 🙂
    Good luck with all your goals in life! If they’re what God wants for you, then they surely will happen! 🙂
    ~Jaclynn~

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hayley says:

      Thank you! I know what you mean… The reality of the future has really hit me the past couple weeks. Like how my sisters are all leaving for college and soon I’ll be the only one here O.o. Those are great goals, you have. And I’m glad you plan on continuing your blog :D. That would be really cool if you could make a pattern book, I’m sure a lot of people would buy it–your designs are amazing! Thank you! Good luck to you, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lily says:

    Even though I’m *only* eleven (and even though I like to put astericks instead of apostrophes :P), I think quite a bit about my future.
    I want to be a published author and a stay-at-home mom. I’d like to adopt kids, because many children are suffering in terrible orphanages around the world. Also, I don’t want to *settle for less* (a husband that isn’t quite for me but good enough) just to have kids. If there is somebody out there that is the perfect man for me, God will guide me to him. But perhaps I am meant to save a child – or multiple children – from a bad life. I know that God knows what is the right thing for me. I’d love to adopt twin girls, and I’ve actually picked out names! Although I shouldn’t count my chickens before they hatch.
    I’d love to homeschool my kids – that is a must for me. Also, my goal is to become a published writer, help towards my dream of world peace (I already have some ideas!), and be forever a child of God.
    *steps of soapbox*
    -Lily

    Liked by 1 person

  5. izzy (blurryface) gaskarth says:

    Oh my gosh this was just amazing, Hayley!

    Being only an 11-year-old idk what my future holds for me, but all I really want to do is live life being a writer, considering that I am in the middle of writing a book.

    ~Izzy 🎶

    Like

      • izzy (blurryface) gaskarth says:

        It’s basically about this girl named Vic who got abused by her parents and doesn’t say anything, but then music helps her find her true voice and everything (lol the end is going to be really sappy but meh oh well.) :0

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Aria says:

    This was such a good post, Hayley! I, also, have been thinking about my future a lot recently – I mean like, my graduation is coming up in two years, and then I shan’t go to college. I’ll probably take culinary classes with my dad after I graduate, and then, I hope and pray to get married at nineteen. Have a big family on our farm. 🙂 Homeschool my kids. Write my blog. I also would love to use my vocal gift. I hope you can accomplish your goals! Delight thyself also in the Lord, and He shall give thee the desires of thine heart. (Psalm 37:4) 🙂
    http://purrfectlyinspired.com

    Like

  7. Loren says:

    Great post, Hayley! As for my future . . . I’ve already picked out the college I want to go to (where my parents went, and where my best friend wants to go), and I also want to homeschool my children. I’ll try to train my kids to be independent workers, so I still have time to work on my books during the school day. 😉

    My family has a large garden, chickens, and a few turkeys. I’ve always loved going out to the garden in the summer and snacking on warm tomatoes that taste like sunshine. And it’s fun to hold tiny, peeping little chicks in your palm. I doubt I’ll have a full-blown farm (though I’ve always wanted one!), but I hope to have a garden and chickens for my children to experience.

    -Loren

    P.S. I sent you my essay about the colossal squid. And my mom said we could be pen pals! 😀

    Like

  8. The FaithBook says:

    What a great thing indeed to already be thinking what it is you want to be, because it will be upon you before you know it. Prom dresses only last for but a moment, but it is far more important as you pointed out to think about the more important things that come afterwards, and not just think about them but to begin to plan and train yourself to do those things.
    I had many things I wanted to be when I was younger but never thought they would come to pass, but now I’m a mother, graphic designer, artist and the first college grad from my family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

