Recently on the farm…

DSC_0151

Today I decided to tell you some things going on around the farm, since I haven’t talked about the animals in a while.

DSC_0138

Scout’s big juicy nose.

{{ Scout }}

Scout is always mooing in discontent (I believe she’s lonely). So you can imagine how pleased she is when we give her attention and brush her. And she’s starting to shed, which means summer’s comin’, baby!!

And Scout is starting to show!! I’m so excited to meet her calf due in August!! She’s getting very anxious for spring (like me). She can’t wait for new, green grass to munch on. (I’m not big on munching on grass, but I can’t wait for the fresh blueberries!)

12819291_737810429688421_2816709040675096414_o

River dust bathing in the warm sun.

{{ The chickens }}

The chickens are always excited to get out and soak in the warm sunlight while bathing in the dry dust.

We have a little song we sing–“heeeeeeeeeeeeere chickychickychicky.” ย When they hear it, it’s so cute–they all come running, because it usually means we have scraps for them.

DSC_0024

One of our entertaining ducks (and egg provider).

{{ The ducks }}

They love following the chickens around and hanging out in the woods. They also love getting in the water bowl to swim. But last summer they didn’t like the swimming pool we got them, so that’s interesting.

DSC_0572

Just to show you how much bigger duck eggs are.

{{ Eggs }}

The ducks are laying a ton! I think they all are laying once a day at the moment. And we have a few neighborsย whoย have been purchasing them from us–so it works out great!

We get about 6-7 chicken eggs a day, which is amazing!! Right now we have 3 and a half dozen chicken eggs sitting on our counter, that’s a lot, folks!! Want to buy from fresh chicken eggs? ๐Ÿ˜‰

DSC_0576

Aw, look at this sleepy bunny…

{{ Bunnies }}

Right now we have 15 baby bunnies, and one bunny is pregnant. My sister and I are very anxious to be able to put them outside during the summer days for them to eat the grass–less food expenses, which is always good ;). (Would you like to see moreย of the baby bunnies?)

DSC_0554

Our muddy puppies.

{{ The doggies }}

Maggie is getting very old and tired. Pretty much all she does anymore is sleep, eat, and go outside a couple times a day. But the nice weather has been making her happier; she doesn’t like snow and cold weather :).

Bixby is enjoying the nice weather, and we’ve been walking with him a lot to get him back in shape, because he got a little chubby during the winter ;). Oh, and we’re teaching him new tricks–how exciting!! (Would you like to read more about the tricks we’re teaching him?)

DSC_0160

The glowingย sun.

{{ Weather }}

The weather has been wonderful! Well… at least until a couple days ago when it decided to get cold and rainy, but the rain cleared up and we woke up to a wonderful spring weekend (great for cleaning up outside). And the snow is all gone!

DSC_0389

One of our taps!

 

DSC_0254

The new barn roof is almost done–it looks so good!

{{ Random }}

The back roof of the barn is done! So now we have a black, metal roof–it looks good! And the front part will be done by summer.

We tapped Maple trees a week ago, and we’ve gotten a bunch of sap. The syrup is AMAZING!! (Would you like more posts about making maple syrup?)

So there you have it, what’s been happening here on the farm! Now you’re all caught up on our crazy, New England farm life!

What’s been going on in your life recently?

โ™ฅHayley

P.S. Since the GOP debate was canceled on March 21st, I will not be having a live chat :(. But thank you to all of you who joined in on the debate the 10th–I had a great time talking to you all!

28 thoughts on “Recently on the farm…

  1. Megan (A Barefoot Gal) says:

    OOH! I WANT TO SEE MORE BABY BUNNIES! XD ๐Ÿ˜›
    We made maple syrup last year! We tapped about 8-9 trees and got… a lot of sap. ๐Ÿ˜› We had somewhere around 10 quarts (maybe more…)of the syrup when it was done, and we still have some! Did you try drinking the sap just plain? ๐Ÿ™‚
    โ™ฅMegan

    Like

    • Hayley says:

      Haha, I knew you would ;). Don’t worry, I will do more posts about them :D. Thats awesome!! That’s a good amount!! My dad just boiled down a ton today. No, I actually haven’t. I’m guessing you have? What does it taste like?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Megan (A Barefoot Gal) says:

        ๐Ÿ˜› You have the cutest bunnies… ๐Ÿ™‚ YES! XD
        Oh, nice! What do you use to boil it down? We used a huge black kettle. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Really? It’s pretty good. It’s basically just like water, only a little more sweet and very refreshing. ๐Ÿ˜€
        โ™ฅMegan

        Liked by 1 person

  2. wizepuppy says:

    YES MORE BABY BUNNIES (I almost died seeing that sleepy one ^-^)
    Wow, that’s so cool that you made your syrup! I would love to hear more about it. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Loved the pictures! ๐Ÿ˜€
    ~ Suzy

    Like

  3. Clara says:

    Wow, you live on my dream farm! ๐Ÿ˜› Scout, the bunnies, and the dogs are so cute. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that picture of the sun shining through the trees- so beautiful!

    -Clara โค

    Like

  4. littlehouseofamericangirl says:

    I can not begin to describe how much I love this post! I love all things country and farms and as I don’t have that, I love to read posts about that life! That baby bunny is ADORABLE!! Please post more bunny pics!! And wow! That duck egg is huge!
    Oh my goodness, I would LOVE to hear how you make syrup!! That’s so cool!!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    ~Jaclynn~

    Like

    • Hayley says:

      Aw, thank you!! Well I hope one day you get to experience the farm life :D. Ok, ok!! Everybody that has read this post has said they want more posts about the bunnies, so I will defiantly be posting about them sometime soon ;). Not only huge, but yummy :p. Ok! It really is cool, I mean how can something so amazing come from a TREE?!

      Liked by 1 person

      • littlehouseofamericangirl says:

        You’re welcome! I hope so, too… It’s been my dream ever since I was little ๐Ÿ™‚
        Yay!! Baby animals are just adorable ๐Ÿ˜€
        Okay, is it funny that I had no idea that people ate duck eggs? XD Do they taste a lot different than chicken eggs?
        So true! I’ve always thought that syrup is so fascinating:)
        ~Jaclynn~

        Like

      • Hayley says:

        Well I hope it does. It might take a while, but theres always a chance ;). Not at all!! I didn’t know either until we moved to New England and my sister got into homesteading and animals and such :D. Not really, but they have a way bigger yolk. And they’re a different consistency when you scrabble them, more dry.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Allison says:

    This was a wonderful post, Hayley! I absolutely loved all your pictures – especially the bunny one! YES I WANT TO SEE MORE BUNNIES HOW COULD I NOT WANT TO SEE MORE BUNNIES PLEASE SHOW ME MORE PICTURES OF BABY BUNNIES! XD XD But seriously, that bunny was adorable! Help! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’d love to read more posts like this. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. maplelea says:

    the baby bunnies are SO FUZZY AND CUTE! I like the calico coloring on the one you showed. and wow-Duck eggs are so much bigger than Chicken eggs! I guess I never noticed because I’ve never seen the comparison. I learned something today! ๐Ÿ™‚

    โค maplelea โค

    Like

Leave a Reply

